The Médoc

Sep 29, 2023by Andrew Lowry

The Médoc, arguably the most famous part of Bordeaux, is located on the left bank of the Gironde Estuary and is home to four of the world's most prestigious wine villages: Pauillac, Margaux, Saint-Estèphe and Saint-Julien.

The Médoc is split into 8 sub regions, or AOCs, and listed here from north to south:

1. The Médoc

2. Saint-Estèphe

3. Pauillac

4. Saint-Julien 

5. Listrac-Médoc

6. Moulis

7. Margaux

8. Haut-Médoc: just north of the city of Bordeaux

*Even though the first AOC listed is the Médoc, you can source grapes from all of these AOCs and make a wine with them, and it can be called Médoc. 


Wine in the Médoc is typically Cabernet Sauvignon dominant with Malbec, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Petit Verdot rounding out the blends.

Typical notes:

Licorice, red and black berries and small fruits, animal and roasted coffee aroma appears with aging

Best soils:

Small, low lying gravelly hills


The wines from Médoc are some of the boldest and most tannic of Bordeaux, perfect for aging or matching with red meat

Best wines:

Check these out from Vino Vest